Macau Grand Prix street motorcycle racing returns after t…

The Macau Grand Prix has been given an official date in 2022 for what will be the iconic street motorcycle race’s first race since 2019.

One of the main dates on the road racing calendar, the Macau Grand Prix remains one of the toughest and most demanding events in motorcycle racing, yet still attracts over 25 grids of mostly international riders.

However, the motorcycle race has not taken place since 2019 due to COVID-19 travel restrictions imposed on foreign travelers during the period when the 2020 and 2021 Macau Grands Prix were held as events in locally populated four-wheelers only.

Nevertheless, although the legacy of the pandemic remains evident in parts of China, of which Macau is designated as a SAR (special administrative region), the 2022 event will once again be open to international visitors when it takes place on November 17.

Founded in 1954, the Macau Grand Prix is ​​held on the 6.1 km Guia circuit lined with Armco or a concrete wall, which weaves its way through the center of the former Portuguese colony with a mix exhilarating full-throttle high-speed stretches and tight, tricky sections. .

For this reason, the event is well known for crashes and road blockages in F3 and GT racing, while the long track length and low clearance for motorcyclists means red flags are also common during its sessions.

This was particularly evident at the last Macau Motorcycle Grand Prix when an incident at the start of the second lap led to a red flag. Due to scheduling limitations caused by the need to start F3’s main event on time, this meant that motorbike racing could not restart and results were therefore declared on an order basis after one lap.

As such, Michael Rutter was declared the winner for a record ninth time after crossing the line in the lead moments before being passed by Peter Hickman.

After claiming four victories at the 2022 Isle of Man TT – taking his career tally to nine – Hickman is set to top the entry list again for this year’s Macau Grand Prix on BMW FHO Racing as he is aiming for a fourth victory on the event.

Previous winners have also included Glenn Irwin in 2017, Stuart Easton, Ian Hutchinson, Carl Fogarty and Kevin Schwantz.

About Lillian Coomer

Check Also

Red Bull F1 driver Perez appears on new Iron Maiden tour t-shirt

British metal icons Iron Maiden are currently embarking on the second part of their The …